RNCM Symphony Orchestra

This event has been cancelled

Friday 26 June 2020 7.30pm

This event has passed

RNCM Symphony Orchestra

This event has passed

This event has been cancelled. Ticket holders are being informed.

James Chan to partake of eternity
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No 1 in B flat minor Op 23
Johannes Brahms (orch Arnold Schoenberg) Piano Quartet in G minor Op 25

Thomas Søndergård, Rebecca Tong conductors
Maksim Kinasov piano

For its end of year concert, the RNCM Symphony Orchestra will perform Schoenberg’s radical re-working of Brahms’ Piano Quartet Op 25.

Schoenberg was a big fan of Brahms, and greatly admired his Piano Quartet, yet he had some reservations about its scoring. He subjected it to the full symphonic treatment and the LA Philharmonic premiered the vivid re-creation in 1938, with conductor Otto Klemperer declaring: ‘You can’t even hear the original quartet, so beautiful is the arrangement.’

Travel & Dining

Travel & Parking

Purchase discounted parking (evening concerts only) and reduced price Metrolink tram tickets along with your concert tickets.

Eating & Drinking

Make your concert experience extra special by upgrading to A-List in the Corporate Members’ Bar (selected concerts only) or booking pre-concert dining.


Welcome to Bridgewater Hall

Search our site