Hallé – Bruch’s Violin Concerto

Jamie Phillips conductor | Sophia Jaffé violin

Thursday 19 May 2022 7.30pm

This event has passed

Event Timings
Auditorium Doors: TBC
Concert Start: 7.30pm
Interval: 8:10pm
Second half: 8:30pm
Finish: 9:15pm

Timings will be updated closer to the concert date. Please check the website on the afternoon of the performance for up-to-date information. All timings are approximate and are subject to change.​

Hallé – Bruch’s Violin Concerto

This event has passed

Jamie Phillips conductor | Sophia Jaffé violin

Williams Symphonic poem, ‘Penillion’ 18′
Bruch Violin Concerto No.1 24′
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.5 44′

Jamie Phillips, former Hallé Associate Conductor, begins the concert with a characteristic work by Grace Williams, the leading Welsh composer of the middle decades of the last century, who was said to have ‘brought the music of Wales to the World.‘ Her Penillion is a colourful four-movement symphonic poem, its title referring to a centuries-old traditional Welsh improvised performance practice. Sophia Jaffé has regularly performed with the Hallé over the past decade gaining critical plaudits such as ‘impassioned’ and ‘sumptuous’; she returns to play Bruch’s ever popular First Violin Concerto. All four movements of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony are haunted by a recurring theme symbolising Fate. From it he shaped a work of elemental power and drama, by turn impassioned and tender, that never fails to stir audiences’ emotions.

Travel & Dining

Travel & Parking

Purchase discounted parking (evening concerts only) and reduced price Metrolink tram tickets along with your concert tickets.

Eating & Drinking

Make your concert experience extra special by upgrading to A-List in the Corporate Members’ Bar (selected concerts only) or booking pre-concert dining.


Welcome to Bridgewater Hall

Search our site