Vasily Petrenko - 1819 The Bridgewater Hall

Russian State Symphony Orchestra

International Concert Series

Monday 01 October 2018 7.30pm

This event has passed

Event Timings

Approximate timings are as follows:
Main entrance doors: 5.00pm
Pre-concert talk: 6.30pm in the Barbirolli Room
Auditorium doors: 7.00pm
Concert start: 7.30pm
Interval: 8.30pm
Second Half: 8.50pm
Concert finish: 9.50pm
Post-concert Divertimento: Please join us for an informal performance in the Stalls Bar after the concert with Savva Zverev and Philip Sharp from the RNCM.

All timings are approximate and are subject to change.

Russian State Symphony Orchestra

This event has passed

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Barry Douglas piano

Tchaikovsky Suite from Swan Lake (20’)
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.1 (26’)
Rachmaninov Symphony No.2 in E minor (55’)

The Russian State Symphony Orchestra make their Manchester debut under a conductor who made his name in Liverpool. Joined by another familiar name, Barry Douglas brings technical prowess and natural poetry to Rachmaninov’s First Piano Concerto. That composer’s Second Symphony is one of classical music’s best crowd-pleasers, combining joyful exuberance with brooding passages of deep Russian soul.

Preview 6.30pm
Classical music expert Jonathan James introduces the evening’s programme.

Post-concert Divertimento

Travel & Dining

Travel & Parking

Purchase discounted parking (evening concerts only) along with your concert tickets.

Eating & Drinking

Make your concert experience extra special by upgrading to A-List in the Corporate Members’ Bar (selected concerts only) or booking pre-concert dining.


Welcome to Bridgewater Hall

Search our site